DIY Monologue: Jewelry with a story

12 Feb

Karboojeh handmade leather boho hoop bracelet

I believe that when you make handmade jewelry (or anything handmade, including food), you put a little bit of you in each piece (recipe, dish, artwork, creation, etc). Making beaded or leather jewelry is more than just fitting colors and shapes together; it is a little journal where we write our life’s untold story – using jewelry components instead of words and ink!

I very recently noticed that when I am making a piece of jewelry or accessory, I am mostly reminiscing over a particular time in my life.

The boho leather bracelet above (sold) is just an example of this. Although the design is quite basic, it did take me quite a while to garner enough courage to make this one: It meant I had to re-live part of my adolescence, since such a bracelet would have been a hit in my teenage years.

After gazing at the ingredients (metallic hoop, leather cord, caps, clasp, jump-rings, beads, eye-pin/findings) I had arranged neatly in a box for almost two months, I decided I was ready to make jewelry that appealed to me back when I was a kido-turning-into–woman.

Adolescence is emotionally painful. Up until mid-twenties, one is virtually walking into all kinds of walls, hurting over so much as we grow up, especially if we have the artist streak, making us more vulnerable to life than most of our peers.

I sold this bracelet to a 40-something lady at a local craft fair who was looking for something to buy for her daughter. She impersonated her kid every time she looked at a jewelry item, and vocalized out-loud what she imagined her kid would criticize about it.

“Oh, no, this one has shells on it… my kid would say: ‘Mom, why did you bring me shells, don’t you know I hate them? I look like a board game of Barjees!*”

The mother sighed and continued…

“She’ll stop talking with me for a week!”

Obviously, that’s a difficult child. Like many of us.

The mother’s features relaxed when she saw this boho bracelet:

“Ah, she’ll love this one!”

Her kid is a 13-year-old girl. When I made this bracelet, I was thinking of my jewelry-taste (and life) back when I was 13.

Moral of the story: Any work of art, or artisanal work, that is made with a story behind it, will find a place to continue telling that story!

Cheers,

Karboojeh

DIY Tip: I used E600 to glue the caps on the leather-cord ends.
* Barjees is a board-game known in the Levant, specifically in Syria & Turkey. Instead of dice, cowrie shells are traditionally used so contenders would move their metallic pegs a certain number of blocks towards their target, the final house of win. The numbers are pronounced in old Turkish, and that’s how every one plays them.

3 Responses to “DIY Monologue: Jewelry with a story”

  1. katskusina April 9, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    Hi there,

    When I was 13 (I live in the Philippines) I never thought of jewelry at all! Well, anything other than those handed down from parents gold links anyways. Now, I love EVERY kind EXCEPT the gold links.

    Love your site.

    -CL

    • Karboojeh Handmade April 14, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      :) Parents usually don’t understant kids are into toys more than gold, I guess!
      Glad you liked my blog; I just dropped by your site and it looks great! I might try one of your recipes soon

      • katskusina April 14, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

        Thank you very much.

Comments are closed.

The Frugal Crafter Blog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Illustrated Bites

an illustrated food blog

Dream Green DIY

An indie handmade jewelry & crafts creation house

from Hell to Breakfast

bustin' a 5-year-old crafts hoard, one bloody button at a time

W E S E E R A I N B O W S

//dream in color//

Stuff I’ve been drawing

Illustration and graphic design - don’t be shy and say hi at mercedesleon@merchesico.com

EASYBAKED

a collection of recipes

What Katie Made

The best DIY projects. Your wallet will thank me later.

The Importance of Being Quirky

May Your Days be Filled with Love, Good Health, Smiles, and Umbrella Drinks!

thehighnotedotnet

vintage music and the high notes of life

Life.Style.etc

Chic, unique and inspired ideas... as spotted by the team at Livingetc

My So Called Crafty Life

The life and times of a craft addict

The Window Display Blog

Images and words on the best displays around London

If We Took A Holiday

108 days around the world

Niki Fulton

looking at colour and form

The Unexpected Chic - Interior Design, Decorating, Inspiration for home

Fresh interior design, decorating ideas and inspiration for your home

Custom Art and Design

Neurotic. A Jane-of-all-trades. Genetically diverse. Interior designer. Artist. Upcycler. Volunteer. Dreamer...♥

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

Parcel Post

An indie handmade jewelry & crafts creation house

button, button ...

I embroider and knit. A lot.

paper, plate, and plane

A world of crafting, entertaining, and travels.

A Pocketful of Notes

Sharing ideas and thoughts...one note at a time.

Jackie's blog

Sharing with you a little stampin' and scrappin'

Re-Creations Project

Upcycling and Craft for All Abilities

buubok

Modern Knits for Interior

Tiny Octopus Designs

Selling Cephalopods

stashburning

what I make, thrifting and more

Thrift Shopping Buzz

Stay stylish & fabulous without spending a fortune. One store at a time.

Sweet Pea's Kitchen

A food blog with healthy simple and tasty recipes.

twistedsisters

Sisterhood of the creative force!

Butterscotch Tabby

A journal where I contemplate, outloud, what I may "make" rather than "buy" that remains useful, yet attractive little pieces of art. A review blog that combined with a little frugality can greatly enrich your lifestyle. Check out my store for a source of low cost creative supplies: www.butterscotchtabby.com