Craft Show Wisdom: Life can be Full of Surprises!

8 Mar

Karboojeh Handmade Jewelry - Display stand at craft show/fair

I met wonderful people yesterday at the Souk Shighl Ead – Handmade Craft Show. And I learned a good lesson: Never generalize when it comes to purchasing power trends and attitudes. People can always surprise you!

This all goes back to the fact that life is a huge big mystery.

I don’t want to over-philosophize this. But, yesterday, I sold three rings that I didn’t think fit into the general fashion taste over here. I actually sold two very bohemian rings that were not at all bling-y, not sparkly, and totally not the kind of stuff I see people wearing.

Karboojeh Wood & Blue Boho Rings

So… What did I learn exactly? I learned to stop making judgements, expectations, and theories based on “perception.” What we perceive is not the Truth; it’s our way of making sense of the world around us – based on our hidden insecurities, prejudices, short-sightedness, and self-centered-ness. Perceptions make us who we are, that’s why we need to be very careful before taking them for granted. Perceptions help shape our destiny.

I learned being open to the experience was more rewarding than being in “control” mode. I actually went to the craft fair yesterday with a freer mind-set, less expectations than usual, less worries about what will happen.

I also sold another ring, which I didn’t even bother take a picture of before going to the bazaar, because I was so positive it will come back with me. Well, it didn’t! I was a bit surprised when a group of women actually started debating which ring looked better on their friend’s finger. The ring stash they were selecting from was on my not-their-kinda-taste list, until I experienced this!

Anyhow, I had a wonderful time. My table this time was a bit minimalist. I put on display a few handmade jewelry items, a few rings, a couple handmade jewelry trees, & a few hand-painted tableware ceramics – since I wasn’t in the mood at all for an elaborate display stand.

2 Responses to “Craft Show Wisdom: Life can be Full of Surprises!”

  1. sarah@antidote_studio March 9, 2012 at 5:57 am #

    I’m so glad you shared this! Starting in May I will be a vendor at a new occasional shop for the first time ever and I’m sooooo nervous, wondering if my items are going to be the right flavor. After reading this, I think I’ll stick with feeling excited and letting the worry go… :-) PS – I am loving your jewelry!

    • Karboojeh Jewelry March 9, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

      Wow, thanks! And good luck with your May-onwards experience. Hope you enjoy it to the max :)
      I’m so thrilled you liked this post. I usually try to stop myself from writing such posts, since I fear they’re too heavy or something. It’s a relief reading your comment!!

Comments are closed.

The Frugal Crafter Blog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Illustrated Bites

an illustrated food blog

Dream Green DIY

An indie handmade jewelry & crafts creation house

from Hell to Breakfast

bustin' a 5-year-old crafts hoard, one bloody button at a time

W E S E E R A I N B O W S

//dream in color//

Stuff I’ve been drawing

Illustration and graphic design - don’t be shy and say hi at mercedesleon@merchesico.com

EASYBAKED

a collection of recipes

What Katie Made

The best DIY projects. Your wallet will thank me later.

The Importance of Being Quirky

May Your Days be Filled with Love, Good Health, Smiles, and Umbrella Drinks!

thehighnotedotnet

vintage music and the high notes of life

Life.Style.etc

Chic, unique and inspired ideas... as spotted by the team at Livingetc

My So Called Crafty Life

The life and times of a craft addict

The Window Display Blog

Images and words on the best displays around London

If We Took A Holiday

108 days around the world

Niki Fulton

looking at colour and form

The Unexpected Chic - Interior Design, Decorating, Inspiration for home

Fresh interior design, decorating ideas and inspiration for your home

Custom Art and Design

Neurotic. A Jane-of-all-trades. Genetically diverse. Interior designer. Artist. Upcycler. Volunteer. Dreamer...♥

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

Parcel Post

An indie handmade jewelry & crafts creation house

button, button ...

I embroider and knit. A lot.

paper, plate, and plane

A world of crafting, entertaining, and travels.

A Pocketful of Notes

Sharing ideas and thoughts...one note at a time.

Jackie's blog

Sharing with you a little stampin' and scrappin'

Re-Creations Project

Upcycling and Craft for All Abilities

buubok

Modern Knits for Interior

Tiny Octopus Designs

Selling Cephalopods

stashburning

what I make, thrifting and more

Thrift Shopping Buzz

Stay stylish & fabulous without spending a fortune. One store at a time.

Sweet Pea's Kitchen

A food blog with healthy simple and tasty recipes.

twistedsisters

Sisterhood of the creative force!

Butterscotch Tabby

A journal where I contemplate, outloud, what I may "make" rather than "buy" that remains useful, yet attractive little pieces of art. A review blog that combined with a little frugality can greatly enrich your lifestyle. Check out my store for a source of low cost creative supplies: www.butterscotchtabby.com